Coffee = love

This is how I felt this morning.

Actually, most mornings I feel this way. I’ve always been a night owl, but between having a small child and a regular workday, I rely more and more heavily on the strength of the  coffee bean to get me going.

I didn’t always like coffee very much, but I find myself making a pot almost every morning now.  I’m addicted more to the hazelnut creamer now than the actual coffee itself.  It doesn’t really seem to ‘get me going’ like I hope it will; some days, I wish it would kick my butt into gear, shoot steam out of my ears, and send me on my merry way.

Instead, I slump around for an hour after I wake up, trying to get breakfast and get dressed, etc etc…feel guilty for having to wake the slumbering bumber-boy who is even grumpier than I am in the mornings!

I’ve tried Red Bull, too. It sure as heck doesn’t give me wings, but it does taste like liquid Sweet Tarts, yum! Maybe I just drink too much soda for it to have an effect on me anymore. I suppose I’ve built up a tolerance to my favorite drug just like any good addict should.

My favorite solution for not being able to get up in the morning?

Go back to sleep.

Oh, how I dream about lazy sleeping-in days… If I could get more than six hours of sleep a night that would be…well, I don’t even know the word.

Gone are the days of staying up until 4am for no good reason, waking up around noon and having lunch.  Okay, more like one o’clock. Fine, two. No need for coffee!

If I tried that now I’d…well, actually I don’t know, because any sleep past 7:30 a.m. is interrupted by either:

a) a small person poking at my eyelids

b) a small person whispering, “It was an accident!”

c) a cat yowling outside the door demanding breakfast

d)  small person jumping on my belly

e) all of the above!

The only solution I can think of is to try going to bed before 1 a.m.

Yeah, I’ll do that…Right after I stop wasting time online (hello Facebook!).

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

