The Pre-K Inquisition

Riding home in the car today, my son (he’s 4), who had spent the last twenty minutes chattering about monkeys and motorcycles, pipes up,

“Are trees what happen when the grass gets really big?”

 

“Are you going to have another baby in your belly?”

 

“Do you think that bird lives in the clouds?”

 

“How do the planes stay up in the air?”

 

“I don’t want to be a daddy when I’m big, because daddies have beards, and they’re scratchy!”

 

“After you get bigger and bigger and growed up, do you start to get smaller and smaller?”

 

I think my head’s going to explode some days…not only do I not always know the answers to these questions; but even the ones I do know, I have to figure out ways to explain so he’ll understand! 

I love that he’s so inquisitive, but sometimes when I’m making dinner or on the phone, when faced with: “Why does the cat have hair between his toes?”, the answer is, “I just don’t know.”

And that seems to satisfy him.

 

For now, anyway.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment