Cleaning house is dirty business!

I’m on a roll.

No, not that kind of roll.

But yum.

Anyway, I’m feeling very productive lately, takin’ names and kickin’ butt.  Woo!

I get home from work and feel like I have to do something. Not sure about where to start, I ask Mr. Clean what he thinks.

“Well, now, it looks like your kitchen floor could use a little extra shine, and maybe you could sweep the porch and patch that hole in the wall, and scrub the windows, and get a ladder and then you could–”  he pauses as I cut him off.

“Are you freakin’ crazy?!” I yelp. “I was thinking maybe a load of laundry and a quick wipe of the counter. I could brush those crumbs under the fridge and it’ll look great….Thanks for the  tips, though.” I squeeze him back in his shiny bottle and shove him under the counter.

Geez.

I go to gather up some clothes out of the bathroom. After I make two piles, I notice my nail polish under the edge of the cabinet.  I’ve been looking for it for weeks, so I sit down on the edge of the tub to do a touch-up.

Nice.

I feel so good about that I decide to give myself a little facial. Quick mud-mask is always fun.  As I wait for it to dry, I flip through an old People magazine.

Ooh, I love crosswords! The People ones are always so easy.

Hmm, a tough one…what was the name of Gary Shandling’s TV show?

Oh, yeah, the “Its the Gary Shandling Show”!  He was such a creative guy, I wonder what happened.

After tripping over my laundry piles twice, I remember what I was supposed to be doing.

Ugh.

Sigh….

I carry the clothes to the laundry room and drop them on the floor.

Opening the cabinet to get the detergent, I —- Ooh! Picture hooks! I’ve been wanting to put that painting up in my room.  Off I go in search of a hammer.

You’d think it might be in the toolbox, right?

Silly rabbit.

After a half an hour of fruitless searching (which turns up a missing earring, a book I’d been meaning to finish, and some stale goldfish crackers), I have no hammer.

Also, in the course of my search, I have now lost the picture hooks.

I sit down and realize, whew, I’m worn out from all this productivity.

With all that I’ve gotten done, I deserve a nap.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

