The Edumacation of the Small Ones

So my little guy is going to a new daycare.  I’m not thrilled with him having to go at all, but hey. Anyhoo, he was all excited about “school” and seemed happy to go.

Day one:  He came home all excited  and said it was fun. Then his face got sad, and he said seriously, “I cried.”
“Why? What happened?” I asked.
He sighed heavily and replied, “He hit me. The boy hit me.”
I didn’t want to make a big deal and make him more upset about it, so I played it cool. In reality, I wanted to find this evil child and put the smackdown on him for hurting my baby. Calming, deep breath…. “But you’re okay now?”
“Yeah, I all better,” he said, smiling. Good.
Day two:  He had lots of fun, he said, but then…”I cried.”
“Why? What happened?” I asked, feeling a little deja vu.
He sighed and replied, “He pushed me. The boy pushed me.”
“Are you okay now?”
“Yeah, mommy, I okay.” He smiled sweetly, making me want to go find that little bully and tell him what’s what.
Day three:  Again, big fun at school, but then…”I cried.”
By now I was getting aggravated with this boy who kept hurting my baby. I was ready to get upset, but instead I kept to the script. “Why? What happened?”
He looked down at the ground, and then said indignantly, “He kicked me BACK!”
So there.
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

