Welcoming unemployment!

Countdown!

Only one more day until I’m jobless.

I’m so excited!

No, really, I AM!

I’ve been working almost 60 hours a week lately, and it’s really got me down.  Been so tired, I didn’t have the energy to get anything done.

The dishes are calling me.

Taunting me.

Same with my clothes….I wash them, and take them out of the laundry room. Then, my motivation flies out the window, and so my clean clothes pile up on the futon.  You’d think they were all made of rabbit fur the way that stuff multiplies.

Little Man thinks of me as a not-so-fun visitor who makes him change his clothes once in awhile and go to bed.

My cat has only two things to say to me:

1. “Oh, it’s you. I’m hungry, by the way.”

2. “Hey, did you HEAR ME? I’m HUNGRY!”

At my work, they all keep hinting I should hit up the HR manager so I can be kept on permanent.  But I’m not so sure I want to. Those folks is crazy!

One guy is kinda new, so I hear him making the rounds of the more experienced accountants every day.

“Hey, can I ask you a question? How do you figure this mortgage/ real estate deduction/ dependant qualification?” He’s smart enough to always ask different people so that no one catches on that he doesn’t really know what he’s doing.

One of the senior managers likes to be mean.  He yells at me every day when I bring him files to review. I laugh at him.  Maybe that’s not the most professional routine, but we both get a kick out of it.  And when he tells me “not to bring that crap in my office!!”, I leave it in the middle of his doorway.

You should see the place when someone brings extra food or treats. It’s like feeding time at the zoo.   Usually whoever brought cookies/cake/chocolate will send out an email announcing it. Within about 2 minutes, there is a stream of people power-walking to the source of the food, trying to act casual, but seriously determined not to miss out on a crumb.

One woman always gets to the food first and makes a plate and takes it to her office. She then waits about 15 minutes, then goes back to the food and gets another plate, acting all surprised, “Oh, look!” and then fixes another plate before disappearing back into her office.

Everyone is scared of the receptionist. She apparently has been there since the beginning of time, and doesn’t let anyone forget it. She also doesn’t like having to track people down, so she uses the paging system if someone doesn’t pick up their phone after the second ring.  If they don’t answer that, she starts calling everyone’s office who is within 50 feet and demanding to know where that person is.

…I asked her for the newspaper once.  Made me feel like I was asking the Principal if I could have the keys to his brand-new car.

Anyway, tomorrow being the official end of crazy-as-hell Tax Season, we’re having a big company party after work.  From what everyone tells me, there’s a lot of drunk accountants blowing off steam.  Maybe I should take my camera for evidence, er…I mean,  posterity.

Should be interesting…Just gotta watch out for that food line. A girl could get hurt getting in their way.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

